Milan Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.4
 Rooms  3.3
 Cleanliness  3.3
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  3.5
 Service & Staff  3.3
 Food / Dining  3.1
 Total  3.6

"Good Accomodations"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Cody C. of kenosha, wi, United States
Reviewed:   January 24, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staying in the Walter Guest House was great! It's a great option for anyone traveling to Rome. The location is perfect - right by the Termini station - if you are looking to do any sightseeing in Rome, You can hop on the nearby metro in no time. The staff was very helpful at solving my problems and also, they are locals so they can make really good recommendations as to what to do in the city or where to eat. Super friendly!! I actually initially had a problem, my flight was canceled due to the heavy snow storms. I had to arrive to the hostel late by a day and, after some discussion, the staff was able to work it out so I wouldn't get charged for the previous night.

If you are looking for a nice fun place to stay at while in Rome, I recommend this place! Thanks Walter House!!!

"Central location cozy housing"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Joeff M. of New Orleans, United States
Reviewed:   November 2, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel consist of just one flat, so it is confortable and cozy. Great atmosphere, cool place to meet people. The beds are soft and straight as my back needs. The staff was really nice. but i can say that much for the hostel. it was close to the train station and the colosseum.. The cleanliness was high and Walter had a very long shift of 16 hours while i was there was very helpful and nice. The staff made hot smelling coffee and breakfast!! Thx Walter!!

"Disgusting treatment"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Oriol R. of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   August 31, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The boss, the man who's in the reception of the main adress, he is simply a very short minded person, he treat people like dogs, really. At first time didn't say anything about the room or about the facilities, he only asked for documentation and said PAY. Of course we wanted to see the room firstly, we thought it was normal, because we are paying for a service that we haven't seen. After two days, we had a problem with the keys (at first time, they only give one game of keys for one reservation, so if you're a person who's booking for others, you'll have problems, better book one by one), we wanted to talk with him to solve it but he started shouting and crying in front of our face, it was a really mad reaction. It was a very deceiving situation, he didn't listen to us, and he only say to stay and wait shouting; finally after more than a half an hour, another employer came to us and asked what happened and then he helped us nicely. Of course, i will never come back to this place and give money to this man. Furthermore, he didn’t gave us a piece of paper to make a reclaim. The only rights as a client that you have is to wait and pay whenever they say, completely awful.

A part from that, I must say that the other employers are not rude. The most part of rooms are in flats near the main address; but there’s no lokers to keep the luggage or wi-fi to surf the net. If you want to stay for few days its not a bad place, but pray to your god for not having problems to solve, because you must clean your face out of spit.

"Walter House"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Guillermo S. of Río Cuarto, Argentina
Reviewed:   August 31, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
No me hospedé en el hostel, porque cuando fuí a hacer la confirmación me dijeron que no había reserva realizada, a pesar de tener el comprobante.

"the location is good"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   JING A. of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 23, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the location is good

"Walter is great!!!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Valery A. of new york, United States
Reviewed:   August 1, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was really pleased with Walter and pleasantly surprised with my first experience of hosteling. I found the staff very approachable, the rooms clean and the location ideal for people who want quiet rooms to sleep in,to see the main attractions of Rome and the surounding area. The road is directly opposite the piazza vittorio and although may seem a little daunting it is well worth staying at. Breakfast was more than adequate to set you up for the day . We were early to bed and was rarely disturbed by others coming into the room, I would definitly reccommend staying there and I will be going back when I return to Rome but staying a little longer.Walter is great ,helpful and kind.

"My comments on Walter Guest House"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Jayjay A. of Manila, Philippines
Reviewed:   August 1, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The pictures of the rooms at Walter Guest House are not what they appear to be. Much is to be desired. Walter (I assume the owner) is most impolite and rude. He keeps on shouting. Is there an aircondition? Yes there is but he wants his guests to put it on only at 10 PM and shut it off at 12 midnight. So stupid and arrogant. The bathrooms are clean but very small. Udaya (the Sri Lankan who takes care of the house) is a kind and understanding man. His companion Lachmi is likewise a very good and hardworking Sri Lankan. The only impolite person is Walter. He takes advantage of you if he has the chance. Beware of him. He is what we call in the Philippines an "estafador". I repeat: beware of WALTER.

"Misleading and Condescending"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   G E. of Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 15, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Looking for a description of this hostel I initially overlooked this result in my search because it bears no resemblance to the Walter Guesthouse we stayed in in Rome, both in the pictures and description. The hostel was not a bad place, facilities were fine and there was free internet but the staff were utterly and hopelessly clueless. They were patronising in the extreme and did not trust us to go to the cash point on our own to get money to pay them. Instant distrust in your guests who you treat as petty thieves is not a good outlook to have when running a hostel. The owner was nice enough but his staff/cronies let a lasting negative impression upon the stay. While it did not compromise our stint in Rome, it's a shame that the place we came back to had such an unwelcoming atmosphere. I would rather stay in a bit of a grimey place but with staff with a smile on their face. I don't normally write reviews, good or bad, but I thought it should serve as a footnote to counterbalance the rosey depiction of the place.

"good stuff"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Erin G. of Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed:   July 13, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff was very nice and helpful. The space seemed a bit cramped at first but we adjusted to it very quickly and found it quite like home and comfortable. The breakfast had great options and hours. The kitchen was available for cooking food from the grocery store which is just down the road. Very easy access to the metro.

"not recommendable"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Minjee P. of Vienna, Austria
Reviewed:   May 24, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the equipment there is not that clean especially the blanket they gave to users. The breakfast was just a bread and jam and milk. Sometimes, there was a fight between the reception guy and guest. Also, time to time, the reception guy was not polite and friendly. Moreover, he couldn't give any tourist information.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 50 reviews  Next 10 results




MilanInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us